Distinguished Service Award

Frederick J. Suchy, MD, graduated from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine in 1974. He completed pediatric residency and fellowship training in pediatric gastroenterology and hepatology at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center with Drs. William K. Schubert and William F. Balistreri.

He subsequently was Chief of Pediatric Gastroenterology and Hepatology at Yale University (1988-1996) and Chair of Pediatrics at Mount Sinai School of Medicine (1996-2009). Dr. Suchy has contributed to AASLD and the hepatology community in many capacities including memberships on the Research Committee, the Education Committee, several Strategic Planning Committees, and search committees for the AASLD executive director and an editor for Hepatology. He was elected to the AASLD governing board (1999—2004), and served as President in 2003. He has chaired the Scientific Advisory Committee for Pediatric Liver Diseases of the American Liver Foundation, and was the Vice Chair for Scientific Affairs, National Board of Directors, American Liver Foundation (2006-2010).

Dr. Suchy's research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health for more than three decades. The focus of his work has been on the biology and pathobiology of liver transport systems that contribute to bile formation. He has also had a long-standing clinical focus on pediatric liver disease, and in addition to publication of many reviews, case reports, and book chapters, he is an editor of a comprehensive textbook entitled "Liver Disease in Children" which is now in its 4th edition.

Dr. Suchy is currently Chief Research Officer, Director of The Children's Hospital Colorado Research Institute, Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Dean for Child Health Research, University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO.

 Past Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Thomas D. Boyer, MD2012
Anna Suk-Fong Lok, MD2011
Bruce R. Bacon, MD2010
Joseph R Bloomer, MD2009
Andres T Blei, MD2008
William F Balistreri , MD2007
Allan W Wolkoff , MD2006
Leonard B Seeff , MD2005
Eugene R Schiff, MD2004
Paul D Berk, MD2003
Esteban Mezey, MD2002
Anthony S Tavill, MD2001
Willis C Maddrey, MD2000
Michael F Sorrell, MD1999
Kamal G Ishak, MD1998
Steven Schenker, MD1997
Sarah C Kalser, PhD1993
Carroll M Leevy, MD1991
Kunio Okauda, MD1990
Herbert Falk, MD1989
Dame Sheila Sherlock, MD, PhD1988
Burton Combes, MD1984
Hans Popper, MD1983
Leon Schiff, MD1981
^ Back to Top