Sign In

Award Recipients Honored at The Liver Meeting® 2016

Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award is given to an individual in honor of his or her sustained scientific contributions to the field of liver disease and the scientific foundations of hepatology. The award honors a sustained contribution rather than a single discovery or major achievement.

Dr. Scott FriedmanScott L. Friedman, MD, FAASLD

Chief of the Liver Diseases Division and Dean for Therapeutic Discovery
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Dr. Friedman is Chief of the Liver Diseases Division and Dean for Therapeutic Discovery at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.  His pioneering research in hepatic fibrosis, supported by NIH since 1986, combined with his mentoring of over 80 trainees, has contributed to the emergence of fibrosis as an exciting new therapeutic area in hepatology. Dr. Friedman was a Senior Fulbright Scholar at the Weizmann Institute, Israel in 1995 and President of the AASLD in 2009. He has received the International Hans Popper and the EASL International Recognition Awards, and is a Fellow of the AASLD, AGA, ACP, and AAAS.

Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award

The Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award is given in honor of the sustained service of clinician educators to AASLD or the liver community in general. The award recognizes the skills of outstanding clinicians and educators who have made momentous contributions to hepatology over an extended period. 

Dr. T. Jake LiangT. Jake Liang, MD, FAASLD

Chief of the Liver Diseases Branch and Deputy Director of Translational Research

Dr. Liang is currently the Chief of the Liver Diseases Branch and Deputy Director of Translational Research, NIDDK, NIH and is a graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School. He is an internationally renowned and dominant thought leader in the field of viral hepatitis and liver diseases who has published over 300 scientific papers. Dr. Liang has mentored and trained over 100 fellows, many of which have academic and research careers, including several who currently hold senior leadership positions. He has also served as an Associate Editor for Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Gut.  Dr. Liang has been a member of the AASLD Governing Board and served as President in 2011. 

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual in honor of his or her sustained service to AASLD or the liver disease community in general. The award recognizes service provided to the community of hepatology researchers and clinicians over an extended period; service that is well above and beyond that provided by many members who serve on the Governing Board and Committees of AASLD.

Dr. Gregory J. GoresGregory J. Gores, MD, FAASLD

Executive Dean for Research
Mayo enterprise

Dr. Gores is Executive Dean for Research across the Mayo enterprise. He is a quintessential academician who has co-authored over 500 publications and mentored over 70 postdoctoral research and clinical fellows. Dr. Gores has organized AASLD research workshops and single topic conferences, and served twice as an Associate Editor for Hepatology. He also served as chair of the Basic Science Committee and as a member of the Publications Committee. Dr. Gores was a member of the AASLD Governing Board ultimately serving as President in 2007. He currently serves as chair of the Hepatobiliary Neoplasia SIG. In fact, his signature contribution was the creation of the Special Interest Groups (SIGs).  


Award Recipients

  AASLD Distinguished Achievement Award
2015 Charles M. Rice, PhD
2014 Jules L. Dienstag, MD
2013 Roger Williams, CBE, MD, FRCP, FRCS, FMedSci
2012 Anna Mae Diehl, MD
2011 Harvey J. Alter, MD
2010 Sum-Ping Lee, MD, PhD
2009 Nelson Fausto, MD
2008 Lawrie W Powell, MD, PhD
2007 Juan Rodes, MD
2006 Neil Kaplowitz, MD
2005 E Jenny Heathcote, MD
2004 D Montgomery Bissell, MD
2003 Nicholas F LaRusso, MD
2002 Roberto J Groszmann, MD
2001 Jay H Hoofnagle, MD
2000 Robert H Purcell, MD
1999 Francis V Chisari, MD
1998 James L Boyer, MD
1997 Alan F Hofmann, MD
1996 Irmin Sternlieb, MD
1995 Telfer B Reynolds, MD
1994 Irwin M Arias, MD
1993 Stanley E Bradley, MD and Carl A Goresky, MD
1991 Thomas E Starzl, MD
1990 Rudi Schmid, MD
1989 Aron Rappaport, MD
1986 Hyman J Zimmerman, MD


AASLD Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award
2015 Guadalupe Garcia-Tsao, MD, FAASLD
2014  William M. Lee, MD
2013 Arthur J. McCullough, MD                                       
2012 Nathan M. (Tony) Bass, MD
2011 Ding-Shinn Chen, MD
2010 Norman D. Grace, MD
2009 Laurie Blendis, MD
2008 Albert J Czaja, MD


AASLD Distinguished Service Award
2015 Elizabeth M Brunt, MD, FAASLD
2014 Sherrie H. Cathcart, CAE
2013 Frederick J. Suchy, MD                                            
2012 Thomas D. Boyer, MD
2011 Anna S. Lok, MD
2010 Bruce R. Bacon, MD
2009 Joseph R Bloomer, MD
2008 Andres T Blei, MD
2007 William F Balistreri , MD
2006 Allan W Wolkoff , MD
2005 Leonard B Seeff , MD
2004 Eugene R Schiff, MD
2003 Paul D Berk, MD
2002 Esteban Mezey, MD
2001 Anthony S Tavill, MD
2000 Willis C Maddrey, MD
1999 Michael F Sorrell, MD
1998 Kamal G Ishak, MD
1997 Steven Schenker, MD
1993 Sarah C Kalser, PhD
1991 Carroll M Leevy, MD
1990 Kunio Okuda, MD
1989 Herbert Falk, MD
1988 Dame Sheila Sherlock, MD, PhD
1984 Burton Combes, MD
1983 Hans Popper, MD
1981 Leon Schiff, MD