Cirrhosis Quality Collaborative

American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD)’s Cirrhosis Quality Collaborative (CQC) is a multi-site Learning Health Network (LHN) that combines quality improvement and research to improve the care and treatment outcomes of patients with cirrhosis.

At launch, 10 health systems from across the USA had joined the CQC. Early efforts focused on laying the foundation for quality improvement (QI) and research, including the development of a centralized web-based registry, QI training for members, planning and identifying local care quality gaps, and development of tools and materials to support active improvement and research.

Improvement Goals

The CQC aims to improve care and treatment outcomes for patients living with cirrhosis and their family/friend caregivers. Initial efforts will focus on care for adults with cirrhosis.

Specific improvement aims include:

  • 10% improvement in patient reported ascites control
  • 10% reduction in 90-day liver related re-hospitalization.

Additional benefits of the CQC include:

  • Generate new knowledge for improving outcomes in care, treatment, and patient experience
  • Increase provider joy in carrying out their work
  • Contribute to a lower cost of care

Participating Sites

  • Baylor College of Medicine and Baylor-St. Luke’s Medical Center
  • Baylor Scott & White Health, Dallas
  • Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Loma Linda University Medical Center
  • Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard
  • Stanford University Medical Center
  • Sutter Health/California Pacific Medical Center
  • University of Michigan Medical Center
  • University of Minnesota Medical Center
  • Weill Cornell Medicine


The CQC Steering Committee provides oversight to the CQC LHN, registry development, and operations. The Committee oversees the design, implementation, management, and sustainability of the registry and ensures successful progress of the CQC LHN. Members of the committee are listed below:

  • Meena Bansal, MD, FAASLD, Chair
  • Paul Martin, MD, FAASLD
  • Sumeet K. Asrani, MD, MSc
  • Elliott B. Tapper, MD
  • Lalit K. Gupta, MD

The CQC was developed and is being led by Fasiha Kanwal, MD, MSHS, FAASLD and Michael Volk, MD, MSc, FAASLD.

Contact Us

To contact the CQC, email Sheila Tynes, CQC project manager, at

The CQC is currently not accepting new sites. AASLD will announce opportunities for new sites to join the project.