Our Staff

The team at AASLD is committed to bringing our members the best experiences an association can offer. We strive to make sure that every educational opportunity keeps our members on the forefront of scientific achievements.

Leadership Team

Matthew D'Uva Headshot

Matthew R. D’Uva, FASAE, CAE

Chief Executive Officer

American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases

AASLD Foundation and Patient Engagement

Julie Deal Headshot

Julie Deal

Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director

AASLD Foundation

Team Members

Laura Gabriele - Senior Manager, Corporate Partnerships

Julia Merrill, CAE - Director, Grants and Programs

Michael Providence, CAE - Senior Manager, Patient Engagement

Rayanna Roxas - Coordinator, Development

Victoria Wyma - Manager, Grant Programs and Research Awards

Education and Professional Development

Steven Folstein, MFA M.Ed.

Vice President

Team Members

Jake Alexander - Digital Coordinator

Sue Alexander - Project & Educational Conference Management

Sara Cook - Manager, LMS & Accreditation

Kelly Marks - Educational Program Management

Faith Oyedepo - Program Manager

Laura Shelters - Director, Education, Evaluation and Program Design

Finance and Administration

Mukarab Islam, CPA

Vice President

Team Members

Luz Agustin - Assistant Controller

Aaron Batla, CPA - Senior Staff Accountant

Haroon Farooq - Administrative and Facilities Coordinator

Marketing and Communications

Caroline Laurin

Vice President

Team Members

Elise Bender - Senior Manager, Marketing

Joseph Ersek - Director, Digital Operations

Ravenn Mathis - Coordinator, Marketing

Tazeen Shirazi - Manager, Data Integrity and Analysis

Noor Varjabedian - Manager, Social Media and Marketing

Vanessa Velasco - Director, Marketing

Megan Watson - Manager, Membership

Meetings and Corporate Sponsorship

Jessica Curtis, CMP

Vice President

Team Members

Katharine Araniz - Coordinator, Exhibits and Sponsorship

Heather Cooney, CMP, CEM - Senior Manager, Exhibits and Sponsorships

Melissa Morrison, CMP, DES - Director, Meetings and Sponsorship

Lisa Patterson - Manager, Registration

Rebecca Steuer - Sales Manager, Exhibits & Sponsorships

Lynn Tangorra - Manager, Meetings

People and Strategy

Marjorie Bynum, CAE

Chief of Staff

Team Members

Akuender Dot - Director, Member Communities

Andrea Giovannucci - Director, Engagement

Linda Howard - Manager, Member Communities

Crystal Jones - Director, Human Resources

Patricia Marshall - Coordinator, Member Communities

Rachel May - Executive Assistant

Tracey Young - Senior Manager, Governance

Publications and Practice Resources

Elizabeth Durzy

Vice President

Team Members

Audrey Davis-Owino - Senior Director, Clinical Guidelines and Quality

Ann Haran - Director, Publications

Bianca Hughes - Editorial Assistant

Kristen Johnson - Medical Illustrator

Erica Lowe - Editorial Assistant

Emili Malatesta - Senior Manager, Publications

Lynee Sanders - Manager, Practice Guidelines

Cherelle Wells - Editorial Assistant