Past AASLD Presidents

AASLD gives thanks to these individuals who have served as President of the Association over the years. Their contributions to our mission have made a significant impact. 


2023          Norah Terrault, MD, MPH, FAASLD

2022          Laurie DeLeve, MD, PhD, FAASLD

2021          Raymond Chung, MD, FAASLD

2020          Jorge A. Bezerra, MD, FAASLD

2019          Michael W. Fried, MD, FAASLD

2018          Ronald J. Sokol, MD, FAASLD

2017          Anna S. Lok, MD, FAASLD

2016          Keith Lindor, MD, FAASLD

2015          Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD, FAASLD

2014          Adrian M. Di Bisceglie, MD, FAASLD

2013          J. Gregory Fitz, MD, FAASLD

2012          Guadalupe Garcia-Tsao, MD, FAASLD

2011          T. Jake Liang, MD. FAASLD

2010          Arun J. Sanyal, MD, FAASLD

2009          Scott L. Friedman, MD, FAASLD

2008          Arthur J. McCullough, MD, FAASLD

2007          Gregory J. Gores, MD, FAASLD

2006          John M. Vierling, MD, FACP, FAASLD

2005          Teresa L. Wright, MD, FAASLD

2004          Bruce R. Bacon, MD, FAASLD

2003          Frederick J. Suchy, MD, FAASLD

2002          Thomas D. Boyer, MD, FAASLD

2001          Eugene R. Schiff, MD, FAASLD

2000          William F. Balistreri, MD, FAASLD

1999          Joseph R. Bloomer, MD, FAASLD

1998          Neil Kaplowitz, MD, FAASLD

1997          Nicholas F. LaRusso, MD, FAASLD

1996          Anthony S. Tavill, MD, FAASLD

1995          D. Montgomery Bissell, MD, FAASLD

1994          John L. Gollan, MD, PhD, FAASLD

1993          Esteban Mezey, MD, FAASLD

1992          Jay H. Hoofnagle, MD, FAASLD

1991          Michael F. Sorrell, MD, FAASLD

1990          Roger Lester, MD

1989          Paul D. Berk, MD, FAASLD

1988          David H. Van Thiel, MD

1987          J. Donald Ostrow, MD

1986          Marcus A. Rothschild, MD

1985          Alan F. Hofmann, MD, FAASLD

1984          Robert K. Ockner, MD, FAASLD

1983          E. Lee Forker, MD

1982          Willis C. Maddrey, MD, FAASLD

1981          Steven Schenker, MD, FAASLD

1980          James L. Boyer, MD, FAASLD

1979          Harold J. Fallon, MD, FAASLD

1978          Robert Zeppa, MD

1977          Fenton Schaffner, MD

1976          Irwin M. Arias, MD, FAASLD

1975          William H.J. Summerskill, MD

1974          John R. Senior, MD, FAASLD

1973          Harold O. Conn, MD

1972          Burton Combes, MD

1971          Allan G. Redeker, MD, FAASLD

1970          Richard C. Britton, MD

1969          Archie H. Baggenstoss, MD

1968          Carroll M. Leevy, MD

1967          Kurt J. Isselbacher, MD, FAASLD

1966          Robert E. Shank, MD

1965          Rudi Schmid, MD, PhD

1964          Telfer B. Reynolds, MD

1963          Hans Popper, MD

1962          Hugh R. Butt, MD, MS

1961          Stanley Hartroft, MD

1960          George J. Gabuzda, MD

1959          Richard B. Capps, MD

1958          Thomas C. Chalmers, MD

1957          Gerald Klatskin, MD

1956          Wade Volwiler, MD

1955          Robert M. Kark, MD

1954          Franklin Hanger, MD

1953          Jesse L. Bollman, PhD

1952          Paul Gyorgy, MD

1951          Frederick W. Hoffbauer, MD

1950          Leon Schiff, MD