• To promote national and international collaboration to promote clinical care and research in the field of the hepatitis B virus (HBV)
  • To improve awareness among health care professionals and the public regarding the prevention of HBV, screening high risk populations for HBV and management of chronic HBV based on AASLD Guidelines


  • Continue to develop and update educational programs for specialists at AASLD and other venues
  • To continue to develop new update previous teaching materials on HBV on the AASLD website
  • To promote activities to educate the general public about HBV through collaborative activities with other liver societies, governmental and non-governmental organizations, and events, such as World Hepatitis Day
  • To develop educational programs for providers and health care workers from other societies and specialties on HBV engaged in fields other than hepatology


Watch the video recording [MP4] from their recent business meeting to learn what their focus will be in 2019.

Communications Subcommittee

  • Chair: VACANT
  • Vice-Chair: James S. Park, MD
  • Member: Anca Trifan, MD
  • Member: Shivaram Prasad Singh, MBBS, MD, DM
  • Member: Robert J. Wong, MD
  • Member: Mayur Brahmania, MD
  • Member: Alisa Likhitsup, MD
  • Member: Ke-Qin Hu, MD, FAASLD

Education Subcommittee

  • Chair: VACANT
  • Vice-Chair: VACANT
  • Member: Calvin Q. Pan, MD, MACP, FACG, FAASLD
  • Member: Douglas R. LaBrecque, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: Carla S. Coffin, MD, MSc
  • Member: Marina Nunez, MD, PhD
  • Member: Hin Hin Ko, MD
  • Member: Badr M. Aljarallah, MD
  • Member: Amy Tang, MD

Global Outreach Subcommittee

  • Chair: VACANT
  • Co-Chair: Maria Buti, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: Nathaniel A. Brown, MD
  • Member: Mark W. Sonderup, MBChB
  • Member: Jose D. Debes, MD, MSc
  • Member: Brian J. McMahon, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: Francisco Diaz-Mitoma, MD, PhD, FRCPC
  • Member: George V. Papatheodoridis, MD, PhD, FAASLD
  • Member: Nancy Leung, MD, FRCP

Membership and Mentorship Subcommittee

  • Chair: VACANT
  • Co-Chair: Maria Buti, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: George K.K Lau, MBBS, MD, FHKAM, FAASLD
  • Member: Thomas D. Amankonah, MD, FACP, FAASLD
  • Member: Javid Fazili, MD, FACP, FAASLD
  • Member: Anna Christina Lacson Dela Cruz, MD
  • Member: Jonathan C. Yeh, MSPAS
  • Member: Steven-Huy B. Han, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: Mary Pat Pauly, MD, FAASLD, AGAF, FACP