AASLD Governance Election Update

AASLD is pleased to announce the election of new Governing Board and Foundation Board members who will begin their terms in January 2022. The 2021 Nominating Committee met on April 6, 2021 and selected finalists for the positions of Councilor, Secretary, Foundation Board Trustee, Councilor-at-Large and members of the 2022 Nominating Committee. Disclosures of potential conflicts of interest for all finalists were reviewed by the Ethics Committee on April 23, 2021.  In accordance with the bylaws, the Governing Board elected the incoming Councilor, Secretary and Foundation Board Trustee during the May meeting as follows:

Councilor And AASLD President In 2026

Congratulations to Saul Karpen, MD, PhD, FAASLD, Emory University School of Medicine, on his election as Councilor for the term 2022 – 2027. He will become the AASLD President in 2026.


Congratulations to Carla Brady, MD, MHS, FAASLD, Duke University, on her election as Secretary for the term 2022 – 2024.

Foundation Board Trustee

Congratulations to Guadalupe Garcia-Tsao, MD, FAASLD, Yale University, on her election as Foundation Board Trustee for the term 2022 – 2024.

Announcement of Fall Election and Candidate Slates

Membership Election: September 10 – October 1, 2021

The 2021 Nominating Committee selected the following slates for the fall election ballot. Regular, Fellow and Emeritus members will elect a Councilor-at-Large and three members for the 2022 Nominating Committee.

Slate For Councilor-at-large (2022-2024)

Kenneth D. Chavin, MD, PhD, FAASLD - University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center (OH)
Kim Olthoff, MD - Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania (PA)
David J. Reich, MD, FACS, FAASLD - Drexel University College of Medicine (PA)

Slate For Nominating Committee (2022-2023)

Scott Biggins, MD, MAS, FAASLD - University of Washington
Kathleen Corey, MD, MPH, MMSc - Massachusetts General Hospital
Yasuko Iwakiri, PhD, FAASLD - Yale University
K. Gautham Reddy, MD, FAASLD - University of Chicago Medical Center
Bernd Schnabl, MD, FAASLD - University of California, San Diego
Elliot Tapper, MD - University of Michigan
Natalie Torok, MD, MSc, AGAF, FAASLD - Stanford University Medical   Center
Lisa VanWagner, MD, MSc - Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Florence Wong, MD, FAASLD - University of Toronto

Members will be asked to affirm all election results prior to or during the AASLD Annual Business Meeting to be held virtually on December 7, 2021.