Award Recipients To Be Honored at The Liver Meeting® 2019

Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award is given to an individual in honor of his or her sustained scientific contributions to the field of liver disease and the scientific foundations of hepatology. The award honors a sustained contribution rather than a single discovery or major achievement.

Jordi Bruix, MD

Dr. Jordi Bruix is Professor of Medicine at the University of Barcelona and Director of the Barcelona Clinic Liver Cancer (BCLC) Group within the Liver Unit at the Hospital Clinic of Barcelona, Spain. He is also the Scientific Director of the Spanish Network for Research in Hepatic and Digestive Diseases within the Spanish National Institute of Health. Dr. Bruix has truly been a pioneer in the diagnosis and management of hepatocellular carcinoma and developed the BCLC staging and treatment strategy that has been endorsed by several international scientific associations to guide management of patients with HCC. He has authored over 300 original investigations (h-index:102) that have changed liver cancer diagnosis, prognostic evaluation and treatment. Dr. Bruix is currently Co-Editor-in-Chief for the journal Seminars in Liver Disease and has served as an associate editor for the AASLD journals HEPATOLOGY and Liver Transplantation. A highlight of his career is founding the International Liver Cancer Association (ILCA), an organization devoted exclusively to liver cancer research and a further testament of his commitment to the cause of liver disease.

Dr. Jordi Bruix

Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award

The Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award is given in honor of the sustained service of clinician educators to AASLD or the liver community in general. The award recognizes the skills of outstanding clinicians and educators who have made momentous contributions to hepatology over an extended period.


K. Rajender Reddy, MD, FAASLD

Dr. K. Rajender (Raj) Reddy is the Ruimy Family President Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Director of Hepatology, Medical Director of Liver Transplantation and the Director of Viral Hepatitis Center at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine. As a distinguished physician, NIH funded investigator, educator, mentor and leader, he has trained countless students, residents, fellows, advanced practitioners and faculty in the broad field of Hepatology in the US and internationally. Dr. Reddy has held several visiting professorships at medical schools around the world and has authored or co-authored over 450 peer-reviewed papers (h-index 101) on a spectrum of hepatobiliary topics that include liver transplantation, chronic C viral hepatitis, HIV and the liver, and hepatocellular carcinoma. He has also contributed to AASLD’s mission by serving as a member of the Governing Board and Foundation Board. Always filled with unbridled passion and enthusiasm, his influence and impact in clinical care, integration with research and mentorship position him as an enduring role model for all.

Dr. Raj Reddy

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual in honor of his or her sustained service to AASLD or the liver disease community in general. The award recognizes service provided to the community of hepatology researchers and clinicians over an extended period; service that is well above and beyond that provided by many members who serve on the Governing Board and Committees of AASLD.



Dr. Adrian Reuben is an Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina where he established the Liver Service and greatly enhanced the fledgling Liver Transplant program. As Director of the program for 22 years, his passion was for clinical care and educating trainees in exemplary clinical practice and research. Now retired, he remains dedicated to his field and is currently editing essays on the History of Hepatology by renowned authorities in the field, for online publication in the AASLD journal Clinical Liver Disease. Dr. Reuben has been a member of AASLD since 1980, attending all but two annual meetings (when prevented by family illness) during that time. He has served as Chair of the Ethics Committee, twice as a member of the Nominating Committee, as a member of the Publications Committee and currently serves on the CME Committee. He has published 125 peer-reviewed articles, editorials, case reports, and book chapters, as well as 45 essays in the acclaimed ‘Landmarks’ series in the journal HEPATOLOGY. These essays are evidence of his ultimate devotion to AASLD and to enlightening hepatologists, present and future, on the richness of their history.

Dr. Adrian Reuben
  • Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients
  • Distinguished Clinician Educator/Mentor Award Recipients
  • Distinguished Service Award Recipients
  • 2018
    Arun J. Sanyal, MD, FAASLD
  • 2017
    Mei-Hwei Chang, MD, FAASLD
  • 2016
    Scott L. Friedman, MD, FAASLD
  • 2015
    Charles M. Rice, PhD
  • 2014
    Jules L. Dienstag, MD
  • 2013
    Roger Williams, CBE, MD, FRCP, FRCS, FMedSci
  • 2012
    Anna Mae Diehl, MD
  • 2011
    Harvey J. Alter, MD
  • 2010
    Sum-Ping Lee, MD, PhD
  • 2009
    Nelson Fausto, MD
  • 2008
    Lawrie W. Powell, MD, PhD
  • 2007
    Juan Rodes, MD
  • 2006
    Neil Kaplowitz, MD
  • 2005
    E Jenny Heathcote, MD
  • 2004
    D. Montgomery Bissell, MD
  • 2003
    Nicholas F. LaRusso, MD
  • 2002
    Roberto J Groszmann, MD
  • 2001
    Jay H. Hoofnagle, MD
  • 2000
    Robert H. Purcell, MD
  • 1999
    Francis V. Chisari, MD
  • 1998
    James L. Boyer, MD
  • 1997
    Alan F. Hofmann, MD
  • 1996
    Irmin Sternlieb, MD
  • 1995
    Telfer B. Reynolds, MD
  • 1994
    Irwin M. Arias, MD
  • 1993
    Stanley E. Bradley, MD and Carl A. Goresky, MD
  • 1991
    Thomas E. Starzl, MD
  • 1990
    Rudi Schmid, MD
  • 1989
    Aron Rappaport, MD
  • 1986
    Hyman J. Zimmerman, MD